Election 2017 – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa.

Election 2017 – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur and Goa.

The Election Commission has announced Poll Schedule for Legislative Assemblies Election, 2017 which begins on 4th February 2017, and Counting for all states will be held on 11 March 2017.

Punjab to vote on 4 February 2017, Goa to vote on 4 February 2017, Uttarakhand to vote on 15 February 2017, Manipur will vote in two phases First Phase voting begins on 4 March 2017 and Second Phase voting on 8th March 2017. Uttar Pradesh to vote in Seven Phases voting for the First phase begin on 11 February 2017, Second Phase on 15 February 2017, Third Phase on 19 February 2017, Fourth Phase on 23 February 2017 and Fifth Phase on 27 February 2017.

The total number of Assembly Constituencies in the States of Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand, and Uttar Pradesh and seats reserved for the Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes are as follows.        

                    Total number of Assembly Constituencies

State Total No. of Assembly Constituencies Reserved for SCs Reserved for STs
 Goa  40  1  –
 Manipur  60  1  19
 Punjab  117  34  –
 Uttarakhand  70  13  2
 Uttar Pradesh  403  84  2

A total of 690 assembly constituencies will go to polls in these elections, and there will be 1,85,000 polling stations across five states.

The Legislative Assembly of Goa, Manipur, Punjab, Uttarakhand are due to expire in March and Uttar Pradesh in May, therefore general election will be held to constitute the new Legislative Assembly.

The annual Examination at various levels of educational institutes in the states is generally due in the first half of the year and proper care have been taken that there is no clash between the programs of election to be conducted to the Legislative Assembly of the States with examination schedule.

Avatar for Simmi Kamboj

Simmi Kamboj

Simmi Kamboj is the Founder and Administrator of Ritiriwaz, your one-stop guide to Indian Culture and Tradition. She had a passion for writing about India's lifestyle, culture, tradition, travel, and is trying to cover all Indian Cultural aspects of Daily Life.