The Hindu calendar has 6 seasons

The Hindu calendar has 6 seasons

According to the Hindu calendar, there are 6 seasons or ‘Ritu’ in a year. Since Vedic times, the various seasons in the Indian subcontinent were classified into these six categories. While North India mostly conforms to this marked change of seasons, it is less so in South India which is mostly marked by long summers and light winters.

The six classified in the Hindu scriptures are Vasant Ritu or Spring, Grishma Ritu or Summer, Varsha Ritu or Monsoon, Sharad Ritu, or Autumn, Hemant Ritu or Pre-winter and Shishir / Shita Ritu or Winter.

Hindu Season

Hindu Calendar
Hindu Calendar
Indian Seasons
Indian Seasons

The 12 months in Hindu lunar Calendar

  1. Chaitra (चैत्र) – March and April (30 / 31* Days)
  2. Vaisakha (वैशाख) – April and May (31 Days)
  3. Jyaistha (ज्येष्ठ) – May and June (31 Days)
  4. Asadha (आषाढ़) – June and July (31 Days)
  5. Shravana (श्रावण) – July and August (31 Days)
  6. Bhadra (भाद्रपद) – August and September (31 Days)
  7. Asvina (आश्विन) – September and October (30 Days)
  8. Kartika (कार्तिक) – October and November (30 Days)
  9. Agrahayana (मार्गशीर्ष) – November and December (30 Days)
  10. Pausa(पौष) – December and January (30 Days)
  11. Magha (माघ) – January and February (30 Days)
  12. Phalguna (फाल्गुन) – February and March (30 Days)
    * Leap years

Suggested Read: Hinduism

Avatar for Deepak Kamboj

Deepak Kamboj

Deepak Kamboj is a Solution Architect and Technology Enthusiast and having 20+ years of hands-on experience in the IT industry. He writes articles about the technology, gadgets, social media and culture of India.