National Heritage Animal | Indian Elephant

Published on:
Updated on:
Indian Elephant
Indian Elephant

The elephant in India is worshiped and used in various religious rituals and have featured prominently in our history and are part of our heritage since ages.

India’s threatened elephants are getting the deserved protection they are India’s “national heritage animal“.

Indian elephants travel constantly, staying in one place for less than a few days. The highest point of their body is on their head. Females of the Indian elephant lack tusks. In addition, females are distinguished by a finger-like process on the tip of their trunk.

“Gajah” is a name for elephant is now conserved, with its current population of over 25,000 and before it decreases like only 1,000 tigers are left in India.

The Asian elephant, once prevalent throughout India is now endangered species and included on the IUCN Red List. Poaching of elephants for ivory, meat, hide and other parts continues to rise. The current population is of over 25,000 and before it decreases like only 1,000 tigers are left in India it needs care.

Recommended steps include increasing the number of elephant reserves in the country, monitoring elephant populations, curbing, poaching, and man-animal conflicts, and protecting elephant corridors by regulating development activities and relocating local populations. Apart from wild jumbos, the 3,500 captive elephants – many at temples and zoos – must also be protected, says the report.