Pyeongchang Winter Olympics in 2018

Pyeongchang Winter Olympics in 2018
winter olympic

The 2018 Winter Olympics, officially known as the XXIII Olympic Winter Games or Pyeongchang 2018 “PyeongChang” is a major international multi-sport event scheduled to take place from 9 to 25 February 2018, in Pyeongchang, South Korea. The first official Olympic Winter Games were held in Chamonix, over 600km south-east of Paris, France, in 1924. More than 250 athletes from 16 nations competed at the games.

It will be the first Winter Olympic Games and the second Olympic Games in South Korea. Four new events were approved for inclusion in the games and will feature in the Olympic program for the first time in 2018. Soohorang, a white tiger, and Bandabi, an Asiatic black bear, were announced as the official mascots of the 2018 Winter Olympics and Paralympics.

15 winter sports disciplines, organized as 7 Olympic sports, are scheduled in the 2018 Winter Olympics program. The three skating sports are figure skating, speed skating, and short track speed skating. The six skiing sports are alpine, cross-country, freestyle, nordic combined, ski jumping, and snowboarding. The two bobsleigh sports are bobsleigh and skeleton. The other four sports are biathlon, curling, ice hockey, and luge. These four are snowboarding big air, curling mixed doubles, speed skating mass start, and alpine skiing team event.

Over 50,000 athletes from over 100 countries will compete in various sports. The Winter Paralympic Games will follow from March 9 to 18, 2018.

Avatar for Simmi Kamboj

Simmi Kamboj

Simmi Kamboj is the Founder and Administrator of Ritiriwaz, your one-stop guide to Indian Culture and Tradition. She had a passion for writing about India's lifestyle, culture, tradition, travel, and is trying to cover all Indian Cultural aspects of Daily Life.