Map of India

Map of India

India is a country in South Asia. It is the seventh-largest country by area, the second-most populous country (with over 1.2 billion people), and the most populous democracy in the world.

It is bounded by the Indian Ocean on the south, the Arabian Sea on the southwest, and the Bay of Bengal on the southeast.

It shares land borders with Pakistan to the west; China, Nepal, and Bhutan to the northeast; and Myanmar (Burma) and Bangladesh to the east. In the Indian Ocean, India is in the vicinity of Sri Lanka and the Maldives. India’s Andaman and Nicobar Islands share a maritime border with Thailand and Indonesia.

This is the official map of India with 29 states.

India’s States:

Andhra Pradesh, Capital City: Hyderabad | Arunachal Pradesh, Capital City: Itanagar | Assam, Capital City: Dispur | Bihar, Capital City: Patna | Chhattisgarh, Capital City: Raipur | Goa, Capital City: Panaji | Gujarat, Capital City: Gandhinagar | Haryana, Capital City: Chandigarh | Himachal Pradesh, Capital City: Shimla | Jammu & Kashmir, Capitals: in Summer: Jammu, in Winter: Srinagar | Jharkhand, Capital City: Ranchi | Karnataka, Capital City: Bangalore | Kerala, Capital City: Thiruvananthapuram | Madhya Pradesh, Capital City: Bhopal | Maharashtra, Capital City: Mumbai (Bombay) | Manipur, Capital City: Imphal | Meghalaya, Capital City: Shillong | Mizoram, Capital City: Aizawl | Nagaland, Capital City: Kohima | Orissa, Capital City: Bhubaneswar | Punjab, Capital City: Chandigarh | Rajasthan, Capital City: Jaipur | Sikkim, Capital City: Gangtok | Tamil Nadu, Capital City: Chennai | Tripura, Capital City: Agartala | Uttarakhand, Capital City: Dehradun | Uttar Pradesh, Capital City: Lucknow | West Bengal, Capital City: Kolkata (Calcutta).

Union Territories:

Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Capital City: Port Blair
Chandigarh (The city is not only the capital of two Indian States, Punjab and Haryana, it is also a Union Territory under the direct administration of the Government of India.)
Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Capital City: Silvassa | Daman & Diu, Capital City: Daman | Lakshadweep, Capital City: Kavaratti | Puducherry, Capital City: Pondicherry

National Capital Territory of Delhi


Avatar for Simmi Kamboj

Simmi Kamboj

Simmi Kamboj is the Founder and Administrator of Ritiriwaz, your one-stop guide to Indian Culture and Tradition. She had a passion for writing about India's lifestyle, culture, tradition, travel, and is trying to cover all Indian Cultural aspects of Daily Life.

About RitiRiwaz is your one stop guide to the Indian Culture and Traditions. We provide you with the information on various aspects of the great Indian culture and its diversity.

We keep on adding new and unique content which make users visit back over and over again.

Contact and Info

Copyright © 2014-2020 All Rights Reserved.